|The biggest and the highest waterfall in the Śnieżnik Massif and one of the highest in the Sudety Mountains. It has been formed on the tectonic fault line where Wilczek river falls from the height of more than 23 m to the boiler and then flows through a narrow ravine, whose vertical cliffs reach up to 25 meters. Numerous picturesque rocks rise and a beautiful, old mixed forest grows around the waterfall. The waterfall and its surrounding are protected since 1958 and form Wilczki Waterfall Nature Reserve.
The reserve is open to the public. There is a bridge above the waterfall, and the surrounding paths as well as stairs lead to the terraces which make it possible to admire the waterfall and the gorge from each side.
The reserve is located next to the entry to Międzygórze – you can get there directly from the parking lot or from the town center walking along an alley.
|A small garden beautifully situated on a hillside of Igliczna Mountain. It was established in the 20s of the 20th century by Isidore Kristien in honor of famous characters from fairy tales and enchanting surrounding. Numerous specimens of ornamental as well as mountain plants gathered in the garden constitute the background for magic figures, totems, cottages made of roots, boughs of trees and stones. You can get to the Fairy Tales Garden by walking along the yellow trail through the Snow Glade within 30 minutes, or along the path behind the guest house "Sarenka" which turns into the red trail – also within 30 minutes.
Since May 2009 the "Dwarf Trail" for children has been marked up - from the bus stop in Międzygórze to the Fairy Tales Garden (red and yellow trail).
Tel: +48 74 813 51 95
|THE SANCTUARY OF MARIA ŚNIEŻNA
|Igliczna Mountain has been a popular destination point of trips and pilgrimages for a long time. In the middle of the 18th century a copy of miraculous statuette of Our Lady of Snows from Maria Zell in Austria was brought there. It was put on a tree near the summit of Igliczna. During a violent storm the tree broke, but the statuette remained intact. It has been recognized as a miracle. In 1781 the construction of the sanctuary began. Fame of the figure spread rapidly through many miracles and wonderful healings, which were attributed to it. In 1983, during his second pilgrimage to Poland, Pope John Paul II crowned the statuette of Our Lady of Snows.
The summit of Igliczna is a great vantage point on Kłodzko area and the surrounding mountain ranges. There are three trails leading to the top of Igliczna: green, yellow and red.
The Mass is served everyday at 12:00.
On Saturdays, Sundays and holidays at 12:00 and 16:00.
Unique and popular holiday indulgences are served in the sanctuary:
Causes of Our Joy
- the penultimate Sunday of June at 13:00
Our Lady of Snows
- the first Sunday of August at 13:00
|Czarna Góra is a modern ski resort built in 1996. Since its beginning, new investments are conducted every year there. This center is one of the top Polish ski resorts. Thanks to well-planned wide ski runs, construction of efficient lift system and well-developed artificial snow-making system, Czarna Góra is currently a leader
in the Sudety Mountains region and even in whole Poland (ranking Onet.pl 2009). There is a possibility of direct access from Villa Pepita to Czarna Góra (for more information see: SKIING).
|The pass separates the Śnieżnik Massif (Śnieżnik 1425 m), whose last peak in this direction is Czarna Góra (1205 m), and Krowiarki Range with its peak - Pasiecznik (893 m). There is a junction of tourist tracks, a vantage point, a picturesque chapel and a shelter house.
The road leading through the pass has been built on the initiative of Princess Marianna of the Netherlands – the owner of the nearby properties.
|Church at Nowa Wieś
|A small, piedmont village stretched out in the valley on the west foot of the Śnieżnik Massif. There are numerous houses and farm buildings characteristic to Kłodzko area in the middle of 19th century. Near the village there are ruins of a large Renaissance mansion from 1585. Pride of the village is a splendid Baroque church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary from the early 18th century, which has a surprising link with the history of France. In 1890 the exhibition of memorabilia of the late Maria Antonina - Queen of France - took place in Paris. Among the displayed museum units, there was also a Brabant lace veil - three meters long and 33 cm wide. The Queen gave it to her confessor – father de l'Orme, who accompanied her during her final journey to the scaffold.
In 1805 John Strobach - the Augustinian from Monastery on the Sand - got the veil. After the dissolution of the Monastery 5 years later, the veil has changed owners and got into the hands of the former Augustinian, Dominic Jaschke, who was a frequent guest at her sister in Nowa Wieś. Following his death, the veil has been placed in the Church in Nowa Wieś, where it was a great tourist attraction.
After World War II under unclear circumstances it got to western part of Germany and is currently in Telgte near Monastery (Münster).
|Śnieżnik is the highest peak in Kłodzko area and the highest in the eastern part of Sudetenland. The first mention of the mountain hut located on the pasture land below the summit dates back to 1809. Then, a part for wanderers was separated in the hut. In 1869, Princess Marianne of the Netherlands acquired the area located on the pasture land below Śnieżnik and she commissioned a Swiss highlander to construct a hostel, which was called “Szwajcarka”. It was modernized in the 80s of the 19th century and in such form it exists till today as one of the oldest mountain shelters of the region and Poland.
Expansion of nearby forest roads resulting from the economic activities of Princess Marianne of the Netherlands had a great impact on the accessibility of the summit.
This made it possible to organize carriage and sleigh excursions. The building enjoyed a unique popularity in winter, because adjacent areas were characterized by excellent snow conditions. A special attraction of this time was the possibility of "horned sledge" ride from the hostel to Międzygórze.
The trails leading to Śnieżnik:
red (about 2 hours), blue (about 2.5 hours).
Tel.: +48 74 813 51 30
|The Bear Cave
One of the biggest attractions of the Śnieżnik Massif and the longest cave located on the Polish side of the Sudety Mountains. The cave was discovered accidentally in 1966 during marble mining. In 1977 the Nature Reserve including also the nearby area was established. The horizontally spread corridors of the cave have a total length of about 3 km and are located on three levels. Since 1983 a 360 m long route through the cave is available for tourists. People exploring the cave came across the remains of thousands of Pleistocene animals, especially the cave bears - hence the name of the cave.
Rich and diversified stalactite, including cascade reaching a height of 50 m and findings exhibited in the pavilion entrance make the cave a popular trip destination. In order to maintain a specific microclimate inside the cave, groups of visitors have a maximum of 15 participants.
Due to high traffic and interest prior reservation of tickets is required.
- tel: +48 74 814 12 50
- e-mail: email@example.com
- website: www.jaskinia.pl
|The picturesque village near the border with the Czech Republic. We offer horse riding, creative integration meetings in Modrzewiowa Osada and cross-border shopping.
|The historical, economic and administrative capital of Kłodzko area renowned for numerous monuments and, especially, the fortress. According to the chronicler Kosmas of Prague, as early as in 981 there was a mansion of Prince Slavník Libicki (father of Saint Wojciech). The Austrians built in this place defensive strongholds, but only when Prussians took control over Kłodzko in 1742 they built a strong fortress (one of the largest in Europe), which has survived till today.
After the abolition of the status of a fortress in 1877, the place served as barracks, political prison, camp for war prisoners, and even as a place of arms production during the II World War. The fortress is now available to the public.
At the end of the 19th century most gates and town walls were demolished. This enabled the construction of new public buildings and municipal facilities. It is worth visiting the old town with many interesting citizens' houses from the 17th and later centuries, the neo-Renaissance town hall, a stone bridge from the 13th century (a miniature of Charles Bridge in Prague) and finally the church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary with a magnificent Baroque interior of Michael Klahr Sr., the best-known sculptor of Kłodzko.
|Polanica is situated on the southern side of the Table Mountains (Góry Stołowe) and lies on both riversides of Bystrzyca Dusznicka. It is the youngest, but most modern health resort of Kłodzko region. The heyday of Polanica began in 1904 when the owner of a brewery in Wroclaw - Georg Haase - acquired the spa. The investments taken on his initiative changed Polanica in a modern and well-known resort.
The SPA part of the resort is surrounded by a beautiful park, full of old trees and tropical shrubs. Thanks to the existence of rich mineral springs, especially the therapies including drinking mineral water are recommended and applied there.
|Lądek Zdrój is one of the oldest health resorts in Poland and perhaps in Europe. According to the record found in Kłodzko Chronicle, the first message concerning the bathing activities in this place comes from 1325. Around the year 1500 there was already a bath-house and the first rules regulating its usage were published. The heyday of Lądek Zdrój fell on the second half of the 19th century when new, but used till today, buildings were constructed - among them the impressive spa house "Wojciech" with swimming pool and a Roman-style pump room. The surrounding park turns into a natural forest full of interesting, picturesque paths.
Below the resort, on the bank of Bystrzyca Lądecka river, there is the old part of Lądek with marketplace surrounded by beautiful old houses. House No 1 belonged to Michael Klahr - the best-known sculptor of Kłodzko. The marketplace in Lądek is decorated by his last work - a baroque column set in honor of the Holy Trinity.
|Before Duszniki became a well-known health resort, the inhabitants of the town worked in the iron industry, paper production, and weaving. Before 1583 a weavers’ craft was formed in the town. It was supposed to maintain trade relations with Russia and China till the end of the 17th century. The Renaissance and Baroque tenement houses standing in the marketplace are the witnesses of the past as well as the preserved old paper mill from 1605 which was converted into a museum of papermaking.
Clearly separated from the town, the Spa part lies in the Bystrzyca Dusznicka valley. When first mineral sources were identified at the beginning of the 19thcentury,
in 1802 the first bathing pavilion and the "social house" were built. In 1877 the pump room and the concert hall were opened. At the beginning of the 20th century Duszniki Zdrój belonged to the most important heart diseases healing resorts in Europe, and today it is one of the most popular destination points for recreation and healing in Poland.
On 26 August 1826 the 16-year-old Fryderyk Chopin performed two concerts for orphans of the deceased blacksmith - his first concerts outside the Congress Kingdom. To commemorate this event every year since 1948, the Chopin Festival is organized.
|First pilgrimages to Wambierzyce took place in the 13th century. The beginning of this phenomenon is connected with a story that the blind John of Ratno at this point regained his sight and his eyes saw the figure of Mary with Child. In place of the wooden chapel from 1263 and after a failed attempt to build the church at the end of the 17th century (construction collapsed), between 1716 and 1721 Earl FA von Gotzen founded today's impressive Baroque basilica of the Visitation of Mary. It is an oval central chapel surrounded by loggias and 11 smaller chapels. A small shrine with figure of Mary (28 cm) from the 14th century is placed in the main altar.
According to the founder’s idea, the whole surrounding area was supposed to resemble biblical city of Jerusalem, hence the surrounding hills were called Sinai, Tabor, Mount Horeb, or Zion. 92 chapels and Stations of the Cross were built in the countryside.
The pilgrimages to Wambierzyce intensified particularly in the 18th and 19th centuries. Then, the term Silesian Jerusalem appeared.
One of the attractions of Wambierzyce is a moving crib, over which for 28 years worked a resident of Wambierzyce - Longinus Wittig. Out of the total number of 800 figures, 300 are moving.
|In the past it was a mining settlement with rich deposits of gold that were mined probably around the year 1236 in estate of Cistercians from Kamieniec. The 16th century in Złoty Stok was a period of prosperity and development: it was one of the most important centers of gold mining in Europe. 20 mills and more than 100 mining adits were active then. Due to the exhaustion of resources in the next century the exploration of the gold mines was stopped. The preserved gold mine is currently available to the public.
The town becomes now more and more popular thanks to the forestry Adventure Park "Skalisko" covering the area of approximately 7ha. Rich and diversified offer of the Park may attract even the advocates of "extreme adventures" as it includes insured rock-climbing or Zip-line downhill at high altitude on the ropes with a length of 570 m / Zip-line super-giant/. The total length of the cable route is 1650 m.
|The most frequently visited part of the Kłodzko area and one of the most famous tourist attractions in the Sudetenland. Uplifted about 30 million years ago (the youngest mountain range in Poland), arranged horizontally layers of sandstone, as a result of erosion processes took fanciful, bizarre shapes of clubs, fungi, animals, or towers. In some places they are flat as a table - hence the name the Table Mountains.
It is highly recommended to see Sczeliniec (919 m in height) with 665 carved steps leading to the top as well as Błędne Skały (Erroneous Rocks). Through this rocky, fabulous world lead well-marked paths, but note – through the majority of these routes you can move in one direction only. Since 1993, this area as the Table Mountain National Park is protected.
|The original Czech name of the settlement was Hudoba, which means poverty. Probably the settlement was small, insignificant and poor - it was just a part of the neighboring village Czermna. Kudowa as a health resort developed in the 17th century. In 1636 a wooden swimming house was built, but the real development occurred in the mid-nineteenth century, when Kudowa was recognized as the first official heart diseases healing spa in Germany.
The pride of Kudowa is a well maintained spa park with rare shrubs and trees, a covered resort-style promenade from the early 20th century and a Baroque castle (now a sanatorium) from the late 18th century.
In the district Czermna there is a chapel lined with skulls and crossbones of 3000 victims of the 30-year-old war plague and those who died during the 7-year-old Austro-Prussian War. There are also the remains of 21000 people lying in the crypt.
In June 1813, in the presbytery of the nearby parish church, King Friedrich Wilhelm III met with the Austrian Emperor Francis I and the Russian Tsar Alexander I. The theme of the meeting was an agreement on anty-napoleonian coalition. This meeting is regarded as a prelude to the Congress of Vienna.
Since 1962 Moniuszko Festivals take place in Kudowa.
|The Adršpach-Teplice Rocks
A unique labyrinth of rocks situated in the Czech Republic near the Polish border. The labyrinth covers an area of approximately 20 square kilometers and is divided into Adršpach rocks and Teplice rocks.
The horizontal layers of sandstone were uplifted about 30 million years ago as an effect of erosion processes (influenced by the sun, water, cold and wind) and took on fantastic shapes. As a result, a labyrinth of narrow crevices, ravines, gorges and maces has been formed. Some of these forms reach up to 100 m in height, and due to their original shapes appropriate names were given to them (e.g. Grandpa's Chair, Executioner’s Jug, Lovers, Sugarloaf, etc.) The highest point of the Rock Town is Starozamecky Vrch.
In the past, the inhabitants of the surrounding countryside were very reluctant to visit the area. Only in the early 18th century the first pioneers of tourism appeared in the region. Today, the Rock Town is one of the most popular tourist destination points in the country.
In 1790 Johann Wolfgang Goethe visited the Rock Town and 10 years later John Quincy Adams, a future U.S. president, in one of his Letters wrote: "Never have I seen anything like this - a wonderful spectacle of nature."
|PUNKEVNÍ CAVES AND MACOCHA GORGE
|A system of Punkva caves together with Stepmother’s Abyss (Przepaść Macochy) is the greatest attraction of Brno and the Moravian Karst area. The abyss is 138 m deep (dimensions at the surface: 174x76 meters) and emerged as a result of collapse of the great vault of the original cave. This makes it possible to visit this place in daylight.
The first person who went to the bottom of the abyss was father Lasarus Erker in 1728. Today tourists can also go
down to the bottom of the abyss walking along a marked-up trail, and then going by boat 500 meters along underground river Punkva, admiring the well-lit shapes formed in the limestone by water. Stepmother’s Abyss and the Punkva Caves are certainly worth a trip from Międzygórze.
|The capital of the Czech Republic called Golden Prague. This is one of the most beautiful cities of Europe which is believed to be a real European architectural jewel.
Międzygórze is a charming mountain village situated in the eastern part of the Sudety Mountains. It lies at the foot of Śnieżnik in a small and quiet valley at the confluence of two streams: Wilczek and Bogoryja.
The resort has been always famous for the excellent conditions for resting. It is also an ideal place for mountaineering and cycling (numerous exciting and precisely marked trails). In winter the place becomes a perfect ski resort.
The peculiar character of Międzygórze is highlighted by its picturesque, Alpine-style monumental buildings which remain in an excellent harmony with the mountain landscape.
The unique microclimate of Międzygórze is determined by its location among vast diversified forest areas. According to the decision of the Institute of Medicine in Poznań (Health Resort), the place seems to have therapeutic influence on people’s health, especially on the treatment of respiratory diseases.